From Golestan To Treaty Of Turkmenchay

The Treaty of Turkmenchay (Russian: Туркманчайский договор, ‎) was an agreement between Qajar Iran and the Russian Empire, which concluded the Russo-Persian War (1826–28). It was signed on 10 February 1828 in Torkamanchay, Iran. The treaty made Persia cede the control of several areas in the South Caucasus to Russia: the Erivan Khanate, the Nakhchivan Khanate and the remainder of the Talysh Khanate. The boundary between Russian and Persia was set at the Aras River. The territories are now Armenia, the south of Azerbaijan, Nakhchivan and Iğdır Province (now part of Turkey).